Raising My Twins

It's what's on my mind.

I Hate Abby’s Flying Fairy School

on March 26, 2012

Girls craning to see Sesame Street around mom.

Sesame Street is one year younger than me. I watched it, and loved it, when I was very small, and I even remember continuing to enjoy it after school as an older “latchkey kid”. My dad thinks Sesame Street may have been responsible for my very early reading. (I remember me and just one other kid being allowed to read whatever we wanted in a separate book room during reading lessons in 1st grade because we were already so accomplished at it, they didn’t feel the need to teach us anything.)

In any case, I love Sesame Street so much that I literally couldn’t wait to show it to my girls. I know the recent research says TV under age 2 is definitely not helpful and is more than likely detrimental. But although I had some self-consciousness about it, I was not deterred, truly believing that this show is not going to set my girls back, given the rest of our engaged, loving home environment. I showed Sesame Street to the girls soon after their 1st birthday, and it soon became an almost-once-a-day habit. (FYI: We only allow this one hour of TV per day, and it’s only Sesame Street, sans sponsorship ads at the beginning. I don’t pretend it’s “educational” at this age—we treat it as entertainment for sure.)

Well, I was dismayed to find that the format has changed. I looked at the Wikipedia entry on Sesame Street and found there have actually been at least a couple of recent format changes…meaning well after Elmo was added. One was around 2002, and I frequently see that format in re-runs. I don’t mind it at all. It’s pretty good, with lots of variety learning in videos of different cultures, places and general information. And importantly, there are still a lot of kids in the intervening “street” segments, talking with the human adults and muppets. This is a huge part of Sesame Street’s tradition.

In the latest iteration (five years old now), there are almost no human kids on Sesame Street. They are still in an occasional video about transportation or whatnot, but even those have decreased in frequency and have been replaced by a more rigid sequence of (increasingly) animated segments.

For the record, Elmo’s World, vilified by many, is fine with me. I don’t love every aspect of it, like the fact that he’s aimed at 3-year-olds and yet he looks for info primarily from his TV and computer. But in general, the segment is warm and engaging, predictable in a fun way for tiny tots, and filled with good information about a variety of subjects, the details broken down pretty far for the young set. I also like Super Grover 2.0 and my husband likes Murray’s school segments, where kids learn about different types of school, such as karate, ice skating or music.

But there’s one segment I don’t like: Abby’s Flying Fairy School. I’ve tried to like it, because my kids are charmed by it (I’m happy to say that my kids don’t completely zombie out when watching Sesame Street…they register smiles, even laugh now and then while watching, and three times Rachel was scared by something). But the first thing you notice about the Fairy School segment is that it’s mostly drawn in pink and lavender*, so I’m assuming it’s targeted at girls, because that’s how they color code our youth now…blech! (Don’t get me started on this.)

It’s also made using pretty shoddy-looking computer animation*. It doesn’t look polished at all. And I know…Sesame Street isn’t known for “polish” but if you look at the new Burt and Ernie’s Great Adventures, there is a super cute claymation-style animation that appeals a whole lot more than the Fairy School’s slapped together look.

There are two male fairies in the school, which I’m glad for, but one of them is grotesque, in one episode talking about “belly button baloney,” and the other is hopelessly lacking in self-esteem. The girl fairy, Abby Cadabby, is clearly the strong, smart one, which on the surface sounds good, because she could be a good girls’ role model…if it weren’t for the pink fur and tutu and sparkly wand. But why do we have to make a girl stand out by making the boys around her sort of moronic? I’m sure I’m over-thinking it. 🙂

I find myself wishing they’d return to the previous format, although I guess some people disliked that one. At least there was a breadth of informational “human” videos instead of so many cartoons and hardly any people.

Does anybody else watch Sesame Street? Like it? Hate it? Think I’m crazy for letting the girls watch it?

* I was wrong about the pink and purple scheme—it’s only Abby herself that is pink and purple. Also, it seems I was wrong about the sophistication of the graphics—please see the comment below from a SS insider. I apologize for letting my personal dislike color my judgment of the work’s quality.  –js

34 responses to “I Hate Abby’s Flying Fairy School

  1. I kind of agree with you on the whole color coding and I just don’t find anything useful in the show. I miss the realism.

    • Janet S says:

      Yeah, where did all the kids go? Strange choice. Thanks for commenting.

    • Anonymous says:

      It is the same segment as Mickey Mouse clubhouse. They have a problem and solve it. The characters are good, you have a dislike for the aesthetics. get over yourselves.

      • Janet S says:

        I never understand commenters who can’t appreciate the overall, civilized tone of a discussion, and need to throw in an insult. Not sure why we need to “get over ourselves” when we each simply posted an opinion, as you did. Also, there is much more discussed here than just aesthetics. But thanks for stopping by.

      • Cynthia says:

        Eek. Someone expressing an opinion doesn’t really deserve the back of the hand like that…. It’s supposed to be collaborative dialogue, right? That last phrase kinda shuts things down instead of offering a new perspective to talk about together.

      • Janet S says:

        Oh, and don’t get me started on Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. It’s pretty low quality programming. Much more so than Abby’s FFS.

  2. S says:

    I let the child I nanny for watch sesame street on occasion (she’s almost 2) and she really enjoys it – she’s extremely advanced for her age & I really doubt that the somewhat early exposure to TV has inhibited her in any way. Of course there are pros & cons to everything, but in my (copious) experience with young children, I’ve found it really doesn’t make a difference. Just don’t neglect them and let them vedge for hours. TV is a part of modern life but it doesn’t need to be a bad habit. Anyway, I’ve always loved Sesame Street, and the current format doesn’t bother me. My kid still learns a lot from it. But man, flying fairy school is awful! It’s noxious, over the top, unoriginal, difficult to follow (even for me) and majorly distasteful. It’s like the ren & stimpy of sesame street – all the allusions to boogers, ear wax & so on seem to me to be ploys to lure in little boys (since our sparkly pink hero is aimed to appeal to little girls). Two miserable stereotypes about gender preferences in small children. Also I’m pretty certain Abby’s character is loosely based on a Gilda Radner character…maybe that’s not true, but if it is, it certainly doesn’t do her justice!

    • Janet S says:

      I couldn’t agree more. Sadly, I’m getting used to the segment. My girls really sit up and pay attention to that, as much as Elmo. I wonder what it is about it…? I also agree that TV needs to be in very moderate amounts, and I try not to use it *ever* to help them out of a bad mood, as it seems that would set a precedent of avoiding coping. Glad to hear from you!

  3. Anonymous says:

    i think you all are over thinking this one. I am a mother of a four year old girl and when I was pregnant I went as far as to ask for no pink items on my gift registry. So I get the color thing and I see where you are trying to navigate. I also had to bite my tongue when everything I received was some shade of pink because every grandma and aunt wants to buy the little girl something pink and fuzzy apparently. I realize now that it doesn’t matter what color anything was since spit up and poo stain everything just the same. My baby that wore browns and blues as a girl was mistaken for a boy numerous times…my nephew is 8 and has blond hair to his waist and is always told he is a beautiful girl, even when wearing ninjago t shirts. The color thing is ingrained in our culture. However, the gender issue for me gets more upsetting when the only girls toys in the store are kitchen related, disney princess dolls and vacuum cleaners. That is truly where gender is an issue. when the girl is supposed to cook and clean and the boy gets to play fire trucks. However, I have bought trucks for my child and trains and such, and she always goes back to her abby cadabby doll and her wand. She knew her ABC’s at 1 and could count to 100 at her 2 year checkup so tv though I agree needs limitation, it is also very much a tool. My daughter loves sesame street. We have many old ones on dvd’s we have found in used stores which if you watch any of these I must tell you that the cartoon animation is still very much apart of it, its just way more trippy and outdated and makes little sense to children other than filler between segments and music. I have to say the one thing my little one loves the most is abbys fairy school on the newer shows. I was very much the mom that wanted no tv, organic food, and cloth diapers, but one thing having child has taught me is that she has her own personality and it will grow in a way that she wants it to whether I try to navigate it or not. Our job is to keep them safe and teach them about the world and how to succeed in it. Tv is a part of that. What I love about the show is that they concentrate on teaching, and counting, and imagination. Blog is kindve gross at times, but lets face it, after countless poopy diapers, and a 6 month old with a cold(eew) who doesn’t appreciate a few bodily function jokes every once in awhile. A sense of humor is a vital tool to coping with life, so I think every one needs to focus more on the real problems and leave the little fairies alone!

    • Janet S says:

      I agree with the toy division. Vacuum cleaners as “girl toys” are a distasteful choice. We do have a red and blue kitchen (I consider kitchens gender neutral, and my 9-year old stepson just spent hours playing with it on NY Eve)

      My kids wear plenty of pink. The thing is, it’s just another color amongst all the others. One problem I have is seeing the toy aisles in the stores now are divided by girl and boy, and the girl aisle is pretty much ALL pink. And there are no cars in the girl aisle. My girls love cars. They now make a lego set “for girls” that is pink, and tool sets for girls…also pink. As if the toy by itself wasn’t enough. This is ridiculous. I know how the marketers claim to be thinking (won’t go into it now) but this is an unnecessary color divide, and I plan on talking to my girls about it. I’m not banning pink—-or even fairies, as we still watch Abby’s segment––but I’ll be talking to them throughout their childhood—-at varying levels of sophistication, of course–about “pigeonhole” marketing techniques and how they only serve to limit their audience. I just want to raise critical thinkers.

      Hey, isn’t the blogosphere for over-thinking? 😉 Thank you for stopping by.
      Janet

  4. daniel says:

    I agree. Why can’t they ALL be smart? Why does the boy have to be dumb in order for the girl to be smart? And I definitely don’t like the low-road of being gross to get laughs.

    • Janet S says:

      Exactly. I’ve recently introduced the girls to Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood—modeled after Mr. Rogers—and they like it, thank goodness. It’s charming and educational, especially concerning emotions. Better than booger talk any day (although I still love most of Sesame Street).

    • Anonymous says:

      If you watch the Flying Fairy School you will notice that Donnigan is not stupid. He actually figures out most of the problimatic situations. He has a self esteem problem and is very shy like a lot of kids are. Abby helps him realize in many episodes that he is smart and a good fairy. Blog is gross and disgusting but he is part troll. Trolls are not normally a good role model for anyone but he is funny and normally the one that gets them all in the problematic situation….we all know a kid like Blog and I love him. Shrek made lots of money for lots of people with the same gross jokes and personality but I guess Sesame Street is held to a higher standard than Hollywood. Abby is the star of the show and her Mommy is THE fairy godmother so it is understandable that her experience is higher than the others. The show is about problem solving and that should be what the kids are learning. I love it and none of the role model things bother me. I dont care if Blog wears a dress in an experiment or if Donnigan sometimes fades out when he is feeling shy or if Abby is dressed in pink and purple it is about fun and problem solving and that is what my daughter takes away from it.

      • Janet S says:

        You are right: Gonnigan is not stupid. In fact, I only noted that he was “hopelessly lacking in self-esteem”. My point at the time of writing this post was that in order to make the female character strong and “in charge,” they seemed to have made the male characters weak, which is a subtle, common, and usually unconscious (sexist) decision. However, I only say this in the interest of critical thinking. I feel very positively towards Sesame Street in general, as I always have, and over time I even softened my position towards the Abby segment before we finally grew out of the show altogether. I still think my original assertion is true, but I’m quite sure the creators never intended it. There is a link to an interesting article below that talks more about subtle gender bias, if you are interested. And I agree with you that the problem-solving is a great feature of the segment. Thanks for stopping by!

        • Kyle says:

          Ive actually found that Abby is not “in charge “, Blog and even Gonnigan can be found as “leaders” in some episodes. Where Abby shines is her confidence, extroversion, never ending enthusiasm! but that doesnt make her the smart one or anything, her confidence is all shes got going for her. Blogg is the gross out guy, but he’s intensely resourceful compared to the bunch, and serves as the comic relief as a secondary role, coincidentally he’s also the Team Player, often taking up the roles that would otherwise be embarassing. Gonnigan is the somewhat introverted reserved but very intelligent youngster, and i have to give the workshop massive credit for NOT dressing up his trope as the classic ‘nerd’ he would otherwise be, opting instead to dress his up as a regular ol shy kid would.

          All three represent a specific storytelling trope, and all three have vastly different yet extremely complimentry personalities to one another.

          The thing I cant stand, is Mrs. Sparklenose, the teacher. Often throwing the kids into unprecedented danger . I just finished watching an episode with my 8mo daughter, where Blogg had a bunch of his Sludge Balls fall into the Salt Water abd muck it up (i appreciated this episode a lot for skyly and smartly delivering an environmental message , without being preachy one bit, instead focusing on helping Blogg rescue his previous Sludge Balls back out, and consequently clearing the water up again) but after every one agrees they have to dive into the water to retrieve the pollutonous balls, I think it was Abby that suggested they turn into fish to play out this mission.
          If that sounds like the worst plan ever, your probably right. As fish theyd have to breath the crud through their gills. My wife didnt get it either , instead exclaiming “why not use a Submarine and sheink themselves?? Thats what Ms. Frizzle would have done!” And i couldnt agree more. Gonnigan rightfully tried to flee before being transmogrified into a fish to be dunked into the cruddy water below.
          And the teacher let that ALL happen, while staying behind. Allowing these young children, discovering what the point and function of their Five Senses even (the driving point of the episode), face the dangers of salt water living as vulnerable fish. And yes, they come across an electric eel at one point.

          Useless teacher. Ms. Frizzle would have gone WITH them, if anything to at least ensure the safety of these kids and provide knowledge and feedback to questions along the way.

          I also cant stand the Twinkle Think gimmick, its just so stupid and only serves to spout the insanely obvious answers ususlky already explored before it even happens.

          But those are my gripes.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Hi I’m actually one of the people that made Abby’s Flying Fairy School. I found your site because I always look stuff up to see what people are saying about the show. We didn’t write the scripts. Those came to us from Sesame Street Workshop. All the character descriptions and grossness was actually written into the scripts so I’m not at all offended by that. But you make me sad (pretty much just kidding) by saying it was shoddy, unpolished work. Granted, it’s not Pixar but you have to understand that’s feature film. If you compare apples to apples, if you look at what we did versus a Jimmy Neutron or Sid the Science Kid or Agent Oso, we all thought our stuff was leaps and bounds beyond anything else on BROADCAST tv. We definitely didn’t have a “plasticy” feel and we were the only ones doing full hair systems, having fuzzy characters. (not to be too techy, but in cgi terms – hair is a little hard to do). As to the color pallets, I think if you take another look, aside from blogg being purple, there really wasn’t ANY pink and lavender in the primary sets. It was designed that way specifically so that Abby would stand out, which might explain why all that registered with you was her pink and lavender though, so maybe too much. All in all, I can appreciate where you are coming from. I actually miss the old style Sesame myself. (PS. I’m only leaving my name off because I don’t have the right to “officially” represent the show)

    • Janet S says:

      Thank you for commenting! I do appreciate getting a little more knowledge about the process, and to be honest, I was probably shooting from the hip with the “shoddy animation” comment. Perhaps that wasn’t fair, since I am actually not knowledgable about CGI (properly chastised).

      This post was written awhile ago and I’ve since watched a lot more Abby,and you know what?…I actually noticed that I was wrong about the color scheme, as you point out. I still don’t like the segment much, but I see its educational value more now—the focus on emotional coping is valuable—and I’m used to it.

      I stand by my comments about girl role models. I actually like Abby’s spirit (not her style), but diminishing her “leadership” role (she “owns” the segment like Elmo owns his) by surrounding her with timid characters is a true shame.

      • Anonymous says:

        Indeed. We actually found Abby to be fairly bossy. Which she never was in her puppet version. And Gonnigan was so meek as to even be annoying to US. Blogg though, was everyone’s favorite! One of the things that we DID get to do to try and flesh out the characters was apply some character development that wasn’t in the scripts. We decided that Gonnigan was going to be our comic book geek, and threw subtle things into some of his actions, like there was an episode where they climb a beanstalk and meet a giant. The giant accidentally knocks them all over with his foot and the other two fall down in a heap, but Gonnigan drops down in that IRON MAN landing pose, like he’s punching the floor :). Little stuff like that. Abby we would often have turn around and hit people with her wings without being aware of it because she was so focused on taking charge.

        It was a truly wonderful show to work on, and we loved what we did, even won two Emmys. But unfortunately, like the rest of the visual effects industry (if you followed some of the what happened when Rythme and Hues won the Oscar for best special effects for Life of Pi) American VFX companies are being driven into the ground by underbiding and shipping production overseas. Even after two Emmys, and none of us getting rich, we lost the show, being told it was going to be sent overseas. I even heard since then that they are planning to cancel it all together, for some of the reasons you mentioned, such as the fact that it had such a feminine feel to it and the parents of some boys found that offensive. (Though that was just “through the grapevine” stuff and completely unconfirmed.)

        Well, it was a good run, and I appreciate your perspective on the show. Good luck with those twins!

        • Janet S says:

          Fun stuff! I remember the beanstalk episode and that cute move by Gonnigan (finally, I know how that’s spelled!)

          I’m truly sorry to hear about losing the show to overseas. Is this the whole production of Sesame Street? It really seems as if this is something that should have stayed in the US! I’m very sad to hear this.

          All the best to you!

  6. Elisabeth says:

    Quick comment….
    The only television our 2 year daughter is allowed to watch is Seame Street. And only on from DVR or Netflix. No commercials.
    We don’t allow any princess toys or books. No Barbie or dolls other than babies and animals. Nothing that resembles a Victoria secret model in training.
    All domestic toys are allowed (baby care/parenting, cleaning, cooking, etc) because in our home mommy and daddy do all of those things.
    Traditional boy toys, art and music are abundant.
    As for Abby’s Flyimg School….it’s about problem solving, about never cutting corners and working as a team. Most of the time magic isn’t the answer.

  7. jennj2013 says:

    I think it depends on how we use what is presented as learning tools for our children as well as ourselves. Sesame Street began the year that I was born. My parents were married at a young age. I often heard how they would read their college text books to me which contributed to my reading at the age of two. The newspaper ran a front page article of a local school district who was on strike with a picture of me along with it reading to everyone on the steps. (I come from a long line of educators as does my husband)

    My 2 year old son loves Abbey’s Flying Fairy School. He absolutely adores the Abbey doll that he received for Hanukkah as he does his trucks, dinosaurs, Zoey and Elmo dolls, blocks , Duplos, American Girl Bitty Twin doll and …….you get the picture. 😎 I also have a 8 year old daughter who loves trucks, Legos, American Girl dolls, dressing up and dressing down and….. again you get the picture. 😎 Hubby has no issues with this.

    • Janet S says:

      I love Sesame Street in general. (I was 1 when it started. Hello, my contemporary!) I’m actually sad that my girls don’t favor it anymore, but all things change. It was only AFFS that was annoying to me back when I wrote this, and if you look at the comments, I got enlightened/chastised (hee) by a AFFS creator. It’s a good perspective.

      I like to see girl characters that take charge, and NOT just because the boys around them are ridiculous. That was, I think, my main concern. I worried that subconsciously, the show’s creators couldn’t have a female “lead” without weakening the boys’ roles. Check out this link for a current perspective on gender bias, if you’re interested. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Caity says:

    I also cannot stand Abby’s Flying Fairy School, but for different reasons. I just find it “druggy.” Gonagan (sp?) is clearly that stoner dude in high school… That tuft of mussed-up hair and trademark boots & hoodie… Blog is hilarious but disgusting with the earwax and belly button lint, etc. I like the teacher, Mrs. Sparklenose, because she treats the kids like equals and doesn’t talk down to them. But aside from the psychedelic colors and stoner-esque characters reminiscent of drug culture to me, I find the episodes to contain too much stress & conflict. I get stressed out watching it. I used to turn it off every time the segment came on, or just not turn on the TV til after it was over. But my 2 YO son enjoys it so I watch it every morning. *sigh*

    • Janet S says:

      I hadn’t thought of that. I can see what you mean. Thankfully, my girls moved on to a different show (and then another) awhile ago. I love Sesame Street, but I was tired of some of these newer segments.

    • Anonymous says:

      Hi Caity. I’m one of the people that worked on AFFS. I’ve stopped by Janet’s thread here before. As I had commented on last time, the stories were written by Sesame Workshops, not at the studio where we did the animation, and the MAJORITY of the character development came directly from the scripts. BUT, and this is strictly my opinion, I never got the impression that Gonnigan was any kind of drug reference. He never seemed to me to be anything but the “shy kid”. The mop of hair and the hoodie were his way of “hiding”, nothing lazy, lackadaisical, or thumbing his nose at “the man”. In fact the entire character was based around his being uncomfortable being the center of attention. His name, Gonnigan, is a play on the words “gone again”. In the first season, when ever he couldn’t face something, he would literally disappear. In the second season, they ditched that for some reason, and just had us make him fly off. “Where’s Gonnigan?” “He’s gone again!” Now we DID portray him as being our comic book geek, with various comic inspired actions. When it comes to the colors being psychedelic, however, I CAN state directly that that was never our intent. Our art director worked very hard on the color scheme, one, to help accentuate the characters, (see my original post) and two, to give the school a “magical” tone. I can see how swirling colors and such could be interpreted that way, but I promise you it was not some intentional hidden druggie undertone. As to it being too stressful and full of conflict, well kind of hard to do a show about problem solving if there aren’t any problems. But I will agree there was an awful lot of yelling.

      • Caity says:

        Wow– I certainly wasn’t expecting this response from someone affiliated with the show and I hope I didn’t hurt your feelings too much. Look– the animation, as is all of the art, CG, etc. on Sesame Street– is incredible. It’s clear a ton of work goes into creating the AFFS segment. And I think what I failed to indicate in my original comment was that I know y’all never meant to make it “druggy” on *purpose*. I definitely did not mean to accuse you of sneaking in drug references. I just meant that for me, personally, that’s what it’s reminiscent of, and that’s why it turns me off. But that’s just my interpretation and I know that Sesame Street is not trying to sell my kid subliminal drug references. 🙂 You did make me LOL at your last sentence– “I will agree there was an awful lot of yelling.” Cheers 🙂

  9. Stephanie says:

    I totally with you on AFFS. My 22mo watches Sesame reruns on netflix from a few seasons back and AFFS aren’t on those. But when we watch SS on Sprout or PBS, man, Abby drives me INSANE. I feel like with AFFS they got away from the original mission and formula of Sesame. If you read “The Tipping Point,” the author talks about the very calculated format of the show and why it’s done that way. The last few seasons really don’t fit it at all anymore. Now, it’s no better than most of those cheesy Disney or Nick shows. :/

    • Janet S says:

      It has changed for the worse in some ways. But then I always have a hard time figuring out if I’m being sort of a fuddy-duddy, only liking the old ways. Ha ha! I loved The Tipping Point!

      • mrsmariposa2014 says:

        Hi. Mother of four here ranging in age from 12 to 2. I have seen many cringeworthy things over the years on Sesame Street from Elmo overexposure to the push for an overabundance of celebrity cameos(muppets have always had cameos, yes, but the focus of this has definitely increased) to parodies of rather adult fare from movie and TV but nothing has made me cringe more than this push of Abby Cadabby and the flying fairy school. It’s not so much the gender roles or the gross factor, though they are interesting valid points so much as this is part and parcel of what’s wrong with SS in general. They are trying too hard to be cool,to be cutting edge, to be humorous to adults to keep it about innocent fun and learning for toddlers. These newer characters like Abby are devoid of personality traits that endear them to your hearts the way the older ones did.My two year old loves the old school stuff like Bert and Ernie and Cookie Monster because those are timeless characters with distinct personalities. The rest he pretty much walks away from. Ok. He DOES do Elmo, too, but he is a toddler magnet what with bright red fur and high-pitched voice. Sorry to get on my soapbox, but it seems to me the vision of SS has shifted from simple educational fun to a lot of nod, nod, wink, wink, aren’t we so modern and hip? Abby is just a piece of the problem.

  10. jeannette says:

    I happen to love sesame Street and abby’s flyung fairy school. It’s funny. I also dislike the Bert and ernie claymation figures. I love sesame Street and let my 11 month old watch it.

  11. Catie says:

    You know, the only thing that really bothers me about AFFS is the age thing. The Abby we meet on Sesame Street is supposed to be 3, and yet the problem-solving skills the three fairies exhibit in the animated segment often seem more indicative of children at least twice that age. Obviously this is an overthinking-adult kind of problem and likely has little effect on the educational value of the segment, but it bugs the crap out of me! Lol.

  12. I just hate characters Elmo and Abby in general. Do I need to explain Elmo issue. Simply I love Telly amd Big Bird and Elmo lets me have less Telly and Big Bird.Elmo’s 3rd person talk even made 6 yr old me angry. Yeah I have a short fuse.Abby is another issue we didn’t need anothee four yr old puppet on the show we already had 4 yr old Baby Bear(I do wjsh given actual name to be called after his baby sister arrived) and 4 1/2 yr old Zoey. Also they had cute thing covered with little Alice whom became 2 during show and never did the pink thing and Curly Bear whom also became 2 during the show. Zoey off set her love of pink tutu and dance with love of rocks and trucks. And was able to hold conversations with yonger Elmo. Baby bear closet to her in agend some of older puppets like Rositia(still not sure her age), Telly and Big bird(both 6yrs old). Besides Abby being to pink,to girly she really hinders other puppets when around twins episode just watch it. The only normal Zoey behavior is excitement everything else is not how Zoey would act. In weird travel segments with Abbey,Zoey and Rositia there is none of Rosita talking in Spanish when getting nervous to nardly understandable speech it was funny. And Abby’s over use of magic grr.

Feel free to leave a comment

